American Bible Society

Our Leadership Team

Dr. Roy L. Peterson, President and Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Roy L. Peterson
President & CEO

Roy Peterson has served as president and CEO of American Bible Society since February 2014. He also serves as a voting member of the American Bible Society Board of Trustees.

Peterson spent a decade as the president and CEO of The Seed Company, a Bible translation ministry based in Arlington, Texas. Prior to joining The Seed Company, Peterson held several leadership positions at Wycliffe Bible Translators. Early in his Wycliffe career, he served in Ecuador and Guatemala with Wycliffe’s sister organization, SIL International. He went on to become president and CEO of Wycliffe USA.

Peterson and his wife, Rita, have four children and five grandchildren.
Robert L. Briggs, Senior Vice President, Mission Advancement
Robert L. Briggs
Senior Vice President, Mission Advancement

Robert Briggs leads fund development work for American Bible Society, cultivating and strengthening relationships with financial partners. Briggs is helping to open new opportunities for achieving our third century goals.

Briggs has served in several roles since he joined the organization in 1999. He led the fund development teams for five years before overseeing the launch of Global Scripture Impact, American Bible Society’s research team. He then managed ministry programs and projects as the senior vice president of Global Scripture Ministries.

Before joining American Bible Society, Briggs held leadership roles with the American Diabetes Association and Cityhill, a Christian publishing company. He and his wife have five children and three grandchildren.
Laura Dabkowski, Senior Vice President, People and Organizational Development
Laura Dabkowski
Senior Vice President, People and Organizational Development

Laura has more than 25 years of organizational leadership experience with successes in driving increased organizational effectiveness and engagement. She has served in leadership positions with General Electric and ARAMARK in numerous industries, including financial, manufacturing, healthcare, higher education, insurance and service delivery.

Most recently, as vice president for ARAMARK’s Healthcare and Higher Education divisions, Laura provided strategic direction delivering effective and aligned execution in the areas of organizational development/readiness and human resources across the $3.5 Billion Healthcare business. Prior to joining ARAMARK, Laura served as Vice President, Human Resources for GE Capital and Human Resources Leader for GE Equipment Management and Aircraft Engines.

Laura is currently participating in the Executive Doctorate in Business Administration (EDBA) at the Fox School of Business at Temple University. In addition, she is doing a postgraduate program in nonprofit administration at the Fel Institute of the University of Pennsylvania. Laura earned a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Bowling Green State University and an MBA from Xavier University.

Based in the Philadelphia area, Laura and her husband are the parents of Michelle and Jim, who are both currently attending university.
Geof Morin, Senior Vice President, Ministry Mobilization
Geof Morin
Senior Vice President, Ministry Mobilization

Since joining American Bible Society in 2007, Geof Morin has overseen the organization’s communications and advocacy work. Under his leadership, American Bible Society commissioned the annual State of the Bible research and created an interactive Bible Experience Center on Broadway in New York City.

Since 2014, Morin has led American Bible Society’s domestic and international ministries while continuing to advance Bible advocacy and develop Bible Engagement technology.

Prior to joining American Bible Society, Morin served in various advertising, marketing and church redevelopment arenas. Based in the Philadelphia area, Morin and his wife, Rachel, have two daughters.
Rev. Dr. James J. Puchy, Chief of Staff
Rev. Dr. James J. Puchy
Chief of Staff

James J. Puchy serves American Bible Society in the Office of the President as the Chief of Staff. He retired from the U.S. Army in 2011 after serving in the Army Chief of Chaplains’ Office as Commandant and Director of Sustainment and Information from April 2008.

Dr. Puchy was the founding pastor of Helemano Community Chapel in Hawaii, Continental Community Chapel in Fort Monroe and Chapel Next in Fort Belvoir. His civilian education includes a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and English from Rutgers University as well as master degrees from University of Southern California, Alliance Theological Seminary, Syracuse University and U.S. Army War College. He has a doctorate in education from the University of Southern California and a post-doctoral certificate in leadership from Fuller Theological Seminary. A retired colonel, Dr. Puchy also has an extensive military education. Dr. Puchy is married to the former Rebecca Lynn Genshaw of Bad Axe, Michigan. The Puchys reside in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania.
Pete Rathbun, General Counsel
Pete Rathbun
General Counsel

Pete Rathbun has served as General Counsel for American Bible Society from 2000 to 2006 and 2010 to present. Prior to joining American Bible Society in 2000, Pete practiced law at Gammon & Grange—a private law firm outside of Washington D.C. serving Christian nonprofits. He graduated from Georgetown University Law Center in 1990 and holds a bachelor’s in Management from University of Redlands. He has also served as the president of the Christian Legal Society.

Prior to law school, Pete amassed more than 20 years of experience in the information technology sector. He held middle management positions at companies including Transamerica Information Services, California Federal Savings and Carter Hawley Hale Stores.

Board Members
As of July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017

  • Jeffrey Brown,
    Chairman of the Board
  • Angela Williams,
    Vice Chairman of the Board
  • Katherine Barnhart,
    Secretary of the Board
  • Mark Hanson,
    Treasurer of the Board
  • Nick Athens
  • Thomas Bindley
  • Rebecca Contreras
  • Mark A. Dennis, Jr
  • Tessie Güell Devore
  • Cheryl Holland
  • Edward m. Kobel
  • George I. Kovoor
  • Karen Louie
  • Mark Matlock
  • Mario Paredes
  • Paul A. Soukop

As of July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017

  • Elizabeth Frank
  • Liang Hsia
  • Cynthia Miller-Naude
  • Diane Linen Powell
  • David J. Trobisch

Ex-officio Voting Board Member
Roy Peterson